Nevada Statute of Limitations on Personal Injury Cases Extended due to COVID-19
COVID-19 closures in Nevada have not only affected businesses, but our legal system as well.
Nevada Governor Steve Sisolak issued a Declaration of Emergency on March 12, 2020 in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Since approximately March 17th, most non-essential businesses in Nevada have had to shutter to help stop the spread of the disease through social distancing.
But what about the court and legal systems? Law Offices are considered essential services. Most law firms have remained open for business however, The State Bar of Nevada issued a statement encouraging social distancing and telecommuting and has authorized conducting meetings and consultations with clients remotely.
Our Courts, they have limited their operations to only essential matters during the COVID-19 pandemic.
While normally there is a two-year statute of limitations for personal injury claims, Governor Sisolak has declared a stay of the statute of limitations. This means that if the statute of limitations for your personal injury claim is set to run out before the COVID restrictions are lifted, you have 30 days to file a claim once the state resumes normal operations.
With this Order from Gov. Sisolak’s office, any statute of limitation that expires during the COVID crisis is exempt from expiration until 30 days after the closures of businesses, schools, and the court system are lifted in the state of Nevada.
If you have been hurt due to the carelessness of another, do not delay, act now. Although you have an additional grace period to work with a lawyer to get the compensation you deserve, your case could still be compromised by inaction.
Our office is offering remote initial consultations to keep you safe while still assisting with your legal needs. Please call our office to schedule your free consultation.